Mary Lou Karley Awards

The Mary Lou Karley Mentorship Award
This award was initiated in 2009 to recognize the outstanding Mentorship contributions made by a CANSW member in the field of Canadian Nephrology in the memory of the late Mary Lou Karley. Mary Lou was a pivotal person in the history of CANSW. She was a transplant social worker at London Health Sciences Centre-University Campus and one of the founding members of CANSW. Her career path took her to the School of Social Work at King’s University College and she continued to be a devoted supporter of CANSW. She was a part of the Executive of CANSW for many years, held the position of National President of the Kidney Foundation from 1999-2001, and had numerous leadership roles. She remained committed to helping patients and families with renal disease. Her compassion and caring nature extended as well to all of her colleagues, in the renal and teaching worlds. She was truly a remarkable presence and has made a difference in many lives. Mary Lou was committed to helping others achieve their potential. Sadly, Mary Lou passed away unexpectedly in March 2009. She has left a footprint on the hearts of many social workers across Canada. The Mary Lou Karley Mentorship Award made its inaugural appearance at the 2009 London CANSW Annual General Meeting and was awarded to Karen Ahola. The recipient of this award for 2010 will have the following attributes as outlined in a letter of support from the nominating CANSW member:
  • A CANSW member for a minimum of 5 years ( renal social worker or Associate Member of CANSW)
  • Member of an appropriate college
  • Demonstrated experience in mentorship of others (students, colleagues, in CANSW)
Le prix Mary Lou Karley
Le lauréat pour 2020 aura les attributs suivants :
  • Être membre de l’ACTSN depuis 5 ans (membre ou membre associatif)
  • Membre en règle d’un ordre reconnu
  • Avoir une expérience reconnue dans le mentorat d’autrui, y compris des collègues, des étudiants et membres de l’ACTSN
  • 2009 Karen Ahola
  • 2010 Cathy Gillis
  • 2011 Shirley Pulkkinen
  • 2012 Gary Petingola
  • 2013 no nominations received
  • 2014 Mary Mariano
  • 2015 Debbie Hodgins
  • 2016 Neil Thompson
  • 2017 Ricki Ross
  • 2018 Sonya Solman
  • 2019 Sarah Allen
  • 2020 Jennifer Bottoms
An individual may receive the Mary Lou Karley Mentorship Award no more than one time.